The Design Center / Web Design & Review / Sites To Review / Professional Web Sites  

Professional Sites for Review

this listing includes lawyers, accountants, doctors, consultants, architects, engineers, realtors, and others considered to be "professional" occupations, but NOT in the graphic design, or web design fields.

Disclaimer - Reviewer Beware: We do not endorse these sites or their products as Good or Bad by virtue of posting them here. All content was authored by the posting party, NOT Web Design & Review. They were posted by their authors specifically for the purpose of a CRITIQUE -- not advertising!

Web Site Reviews and Critiques       All review requests and reviews are now featured in the
      Web Design & Critique forum
      under the Design Cafe.
      Please post your site for review at that location. Thank you.

 

Job openings for designers, illustrators and web designers       New job listings have been posted:
      There are immediate openings and projects available
      for capable web designers, illustrators, programmers and
      graphic designers.
      The list is updated daily at the DTG Forums Jobs Listings.

 


 

The last sites posted here for review were in January of 2007.

The Breakthrough Foundation
The site works in conjunction with media advertising, where people viewing small advertisements visit the web site to satisfy their curiosity about what we do. The site is designed for two simple purposes: 1) To screen potential clients in terms of their likelihood to undertake a breakthrough for personal positive change 2) To collect client data (via registrations) that enable us to further qualify client suitablility for our service. At the present time, the users completing the registration process are predominantly male - I would like to know if there is any way in which I could help it to appeal more to females.
http://www.breakthrough-now.com - Martin McAreavey, posted for review on: November 11, 2005
Bakersfield Real Estate
This is a site for real estate in bakersfield and also other helpful information on buying and selling a home. Tell me what you think.
http://bakersfield.inside-real-estate.com/ - Todd Sallee, posted for review on: November 11, 2005
1000BANANAS-Royalty Free Images
More than 45.000 royalty free photos-fruits,vegetables,herbs,spices and more...
http://www.1000bananas.com - FRANCI VIRANT-photographer, posted for review on: November 11, 2005
Asperger Planet - Maureen and Jack's presentations
This site is designed to promote the presentations done by maureen and jack about Asperger Syndrome, a high functioning form of Autism. They are on the virge of a major leap in their career, and would like the website to reflect that. While i've been making somwehat shabby websites for quite some time, I feel like I have run out of ideas/my skills have turned to mush. Please check out this site, and let me know what I can do to make it "better". Even a comment such as "I hate yellow" will be helpful; any and all comments will be taken seriously, so don't be shy. I don't take anything personally.
http://www.aspergerplanet.com - Rob Swyter, posted for review: September 2005
Fractionals and real estate in Costa Rica
Fractionals and real estate developers in Costa Rica.
http://www.riohills.com - Rolando camacho r, posted for review: September 2005
Jeff Daily Agency Insurance
The site is online to promote business and get more leads. It is also a place for people to go and gain alot of knowledge about insurance and the Jeff Daily Agency
http://www.jeffdailyagency.com - Brian Smith, posted for review: September 2005
Stephen P. Halbrook, Attorney at Law
This is the website for Stephen P. Halbrook, a practicing attorney and scholar. The main purpose of the site is to provide information on his books, articles, and notable legal cases. Most visitors come to the site looking for specific information on a certain topic, and we have tried to design the site to facilitate locating these specific materials as well as other materials on similar topics. We are mostly looking for advice on how to improve the site's 1. Layout (in order to make it look more professional) and 2. Navigation, in order to make it easier to locate information.
http://www.stephenhalbrook.com - Patrick Halbrook, posted for review: September 2005
welcome the people of world
all people are spirit same. so this site contain all facility for any people anybody ask any question for any topics regards kamal
http://www.kamalsingh.com - kamal, posted for review: September 2005

Previously

Commercial and Residential Interior Design Web Site
This is a test site (final stages) with additional content in development. The site is mostly template-driven with areas for the client to add content. I am mostly concerned about color and overall visual impression. The pictures are of the client's historic home, which serves as an office. The site is designed around the home itself, with additional pictures/graphics taken from the property. I have additional pictures of the home to integrate into the site.
http://www.childrenstherapy.org/test/index.php - Posted by: Rob Hough, posted for review on: 8/2/2005
Cris Ascunce - Graphic Design
Cat Graphix is a graphic design portfolio, designed to attract clients. On the site are a few pages where a prospective client can see my design style and call or write for more information.
http://www.catgraphix.net - Posted by: Cris Ascunce, posted for review on: 8/2/2005
Continue...

Reviewing Web Sites

One designer recently said

"You learn good design by looking at bad design."
... another states
"You learn good design through the works of others."

Both of these are correct -- but only to a certain point. We believe that you learn good design through the works of others only when you make an effort to actually evaluate the work and state why you think it works or doesn't work. Only then do you actually make it part of your knowledge-base. We're all born with the same set of tools. Those tools you develop and 'grow' are the ones that you use for life -- the effective ones.

If you find a site you like, make an effort to state why you like it. If it doesn't work, state why -- regardless of whether or not you tell the rest of us about your feelings. Just do it!

Read "Review Guidelines"

Posting Your Reviews

Post your reactions to our online Site Review Form ... Or send your comments and impressions to: admin at Webdesign-review dot com

YOU MUST include the URL or TITLE of the web site you're commenting on. Otherwise we won't be able to match it up with the site description originally posted to WebDesign & Review. Your comments may be published, but your name and/or email address will NOT be published to anyone.

Get a Formal Critique or Site Makeover If you were disappointed that no one reviewed your site... or you would just like to get a check-up to see how you or your designer is doing, then consider getting a Formal Web Site Critique or Site Makeover

Participate in your Design Center

Lots of fun and information for all... don't forget, any community is only as good as the participation of its members. We invite your tips, tricks, comments, suggestions and camaraderie.